Austin DWLI Attorney

Driving While License Invalid or Suspended (DWLI or DWLS)

CONTACT US TODAY AT (512) 359-3300

If you are pulled over operating a motor vehicle with an invalid or suspended drivers’ license, you could be subject to stiff penalties including fees, jail time, and longer license suspension periods. Drivers’ licenses can be made invalid or suspended for a number of reasons, such as failure to pay surcharge fees or a conviction of certain crimes.

It is not uncommon for most individuals who are charged with driving while license invalid or suspended (DWLI/S) to be completely unaware that their drivers’ license was suspended at all. However, this is not an acceptable legal excuse. It is the responsibility of the driver to ensure that their drivers’ license is in good standing.

You may have your drivers’ license suspended for a variety of reasons, such as certain criminal convictions (like a DWI), car accidents, or excessive moving violations.

If you have been charged with a DWLI, it is important that you mount a strong legal defense to increase your chances of having the charges either reduced or completely dismissed.

Potential Penalties

If you are pulled over with an invalid license, you will not be allowed to drive your car away. A friend or relative with a valid license will need to retrieve both you and your vehicle, or your car will be impounded.

In the State of Texas, a DWLI is a potential Class C Misdemeanor with a fine of up to $500. If you have previously been convicted of a DWLI, a second a DWLI is a potential Class B Misdemeanor punishable by up to 6-months in the county jail and a fine of up to $2,000.

Additionally, aDWLI can carry other stiff financial penalties. In order to legally drive again, you will need to obtain a special type of insurance from your auto insurance provider, called SR-22 insurance. SR-22 insurance can be extremely expensive. You will also likely be required to pay an annual surcharge fee, which is a fee associated with certain types of crimes. If you fail to pay this annual fee and choose to drive again, you could be charged with an additional DWLI. You may also be required to pay other criminal fees, court costs, and reinstatement fees.

Contact Us at (512) 359-3300

If you or someone you know has been accused of a DWLI, we can help. Jason Trumpler is an experienced criminal defense attorney who has been practicing law for over 15-years throughout Texas and California, including Travis, Williamson, Bastrop, Caldwell, Lee, Burnet, Bell, and Hays counties. Contact our office today at (512) 359-3300.

Categories: