Duty Striking an Unattended Vehicle and Hit and Run in Texas

CONTACT US TODAY AT (512) 359-3300

If you strike an object or person with your vehicle, it is your responsibility to stop your car and take reasonable steps to make amends. A hit-and-run in Texas, also known as “leaving the scene of the accident,” or “duty striking an unattended vehicle,” or "failure to stop and render aid" is a crime in which consequences can range from a Misdemeanor to a 2nd Degree Felony charge depending on the severity of the damage and injury.

POTENTIAL CONSEQUENCES

If you strike an unattended car, it is your responsibility to stop your vehicle and attempt to locate the owner. If you cannot locate the owner of the damaged car, you should leave a note with your name, address, and telephone number, and a statement regarding the circumstances surrounding the collision in an obvious place, such as under a windshield wiper. Failure to do so could result in fines, jail time, and either a Class C or B misdemeanor conviction. It is a Class C Misdemeanor, punishable by a fine only if the value of the damage is less than $200. It is a Class B Misdemeanor, punishable by up to 6 months in the county jail and fine not to exceed $2,000 if the damage is greater than $200.

If you strike an attended car, it is your responsibility to pull your car over to a safe place – such as a highway shoulder – and check on the other car's occupants. You must then wait for emergency personnel to arrive. Failure to do so could also result in a misdemeanor or a felony charge, depending on the severity of the damage to the car and the injury to the occupants.

If you leave the scene of the accident and the accident involves serious injury or death to the individual/s you have hit, you can face serious consequences up to a 2nd Degree Felony.

Additionally, if you leave the scene of an accident after striking “landscaping,” such as a mailbox, road sign, etc., you may face misdemeanor penalties.

After a person has left the scene of the accident, police officers will attempt to tie the alleged offender to the crime using things like eyewitness testimonies, and samples from car paint that might have been left on the other vehicle or object.

CONTACT US AT (512) 359-3300

If you have been charged with leaving the scene of an accident, or duty striking an unattended vehicle, it is important that you mount a strong legal defense to help with getting the charge either reduced or completely dismissed.

Attorney Jason Trumpler has been practicing criminal law for around 15 years. He currently practices in and around Austin, Texas in Travis, Williamson, Caldwell, Hays, Bell, Bastrop, Lee, Comal and Burnet Counties. Our legal defense team will fight hard to ensure the best possible outcome after you have been charged with a “hit and run,” or leaving the scene of an accident.

Categories: