Criminal Trespass in the State of Texas - Austin Criminal Trespass Lawyer Jason Trumpler

Austin Criminal Trespass Lawyer Jason Trumpler

undefined

CONTACT US TODAY AT (512) 359-3300

Criminal Trespass in the State of Texas is a crime that could result in fines, jail time, and a conviction on your criminal record. Basically, criminal trespass is defined as being on or in someone’s property that has been marked private. The notice that the property is private can be communicated to you in several ways:

• Oral or written communication: This is the most common form of notice, i.e. a person who has authority over the property telling you to leave.

• A fence meant to exclude intruders: This may include residential or property fences meant to contain livestock.

• Purple marks on trees: Purple marks on trees indicate that the land within its perimeters is private. Marks may be no more 100 ft apart on trees in forest land, and no more than 1000 ft apart in non-forest land areas.

• Visible presence of crops for human consumption: If you can clearly see that there are crops growing on the land that are meant to be consumed by humans, this is designated private property.

If you have been accused of the crime of criminal trespass, the Law Offices of Jason Trumpler will fight to ensure that your side of the story is heard in court. Strong legal representation can help the chances of your case getting reduced or completely dismissed. Contact our office today at 512-457-5200.

Potential Consequences

As with all crimes in the State of Texas, the severity of the penalty depends on the nature of your specific offense. Criminal trespass is always a misdemeanor offense. Possible punishment includes:

• Class C Misdemeanor: If you were within 100-feet of private land, you may be charged with a class C misdemeanor and ordered to pay a fine up to $500.

• Class B Misdemeanor: This is the most common penalty associated with criminal trespassing in Texas. You may be ordered to pay a fine up to $2,000 and spend up to 6-months in jail.

• Class A Misdemeanor: Criminal trespassing may be enhanced to a class A misdemeanor if you are caught trespassing in someone’s home, or if you are carrying a deadly weapon at the time of the alleged trespassing. You may be ordered to pay a fine up to $4,000 and spend up to 1-year in jail.

Certain provisions in the Texas penal code exclude individuals like firefighters, EMS, utility providers, and telecommunication providers from certain criminal trespassing charges since they must regularly enter private residences and areas to perform their jobs.

Contact Us at (512) 359-3300!

If you have been accused of the crime of criminal trespass in the State of Texas, our office can help. Jason Trumpler has over 15-years experience practicing criminal law. He currently assists clients in Travis, Williamson, Hays, Caldwell, Bastrop, Lee, Burnet, and Bell counties. Call our office today at (512) 359-3300.

For your convenience we also have an office in Round Rock, Texas located at:

1000 Heritage Center Cir, Round Rock, TX 78664.

Categories: