Austin Minor in Possession of Alcohol Attorney Jason Trumpler

Austin Minor in Possession of Alcohol Lawyer Jason Trumpler

CONTACT US TODAY AT (512) 359-3300

In the State of Texas, you may be charged with the crime of minor in possession of alcohol (MIP) if you are under the age of 21 and in the proximity or control of an alcoholic beverage ("constructive possession"). Drinking alcohol before the age of 21 is a crime, and a conviction of this crime may carry penalties such as fines, a drivers’ license suspension, community service, and even jail time if you are a repeat offender. If you are under the age of 21 and found near alcohol, it can be difficult for the justice system to determine whether you were or were not drinking, so the law tends to treat all minors – even if you were not found actively holding a drink – similarly.

If you or someone you know has been accused of a MIP, a strong legal team can help your odds of having your charge reduced or completely dismissed. Contact the Law Offices of Jason Trumpler today at (512) 359-3300.

Potential Consequences

Typically, individuals below the age of 21 are not permitted to be in contact with an alcoholic beverage. Texas’ rules can be rather draconian, meaning you may still be charged with an MIP even if you are not drinking and instead just simply holding a beer for a friend. There are some exceptions to this rule – if you are with a legal guardian who is over the age of 21, you may be permitted to be in the presence of alcohol. Another example is if you work in a field which requires you to handle alcohol, such as in the service industry. Finally, if you are rendering aid to someone suspected of alcohol poisoning and you are found in the presence of alcohol, you may be exempt from punishment.

In most cases, an MIP conviction will result in a Class C Misdemeanor with a fine of no more than $500, a drivers’ license suspension of up to 30-days, and mandatory community service from 8-12 hours.

However, if you have previous MIP convictions on your record, you may face fines up to $2,000, jail time up to 6-months, a drivers’ license suspension of up to 6-months, and mandatory community service of up to 40-hours.

In addition to fines, jail, community service, and restricted driving privileges, an MIP conviction on your record may cause your auto insurance rates to rise and can affect certain employment opportunities.

Contact Us at (512) 359-3300

If you or someone you know has been charged with an MIP in the State of Texas, attorney Jason Trumpler can help. Jason has more than 15-years of solid criminal law experience and has fought on the behalf of thousands of individuals in Central Texas.

He currently represents clients in courts throughout Central Texas, including, but not limited to: Austin Community Court, Austin Municipal Court, San Marcos Municipal Court, Travis County Justice of the Peace, Precinct 5, Hays County Justice of the Peace, Precinct 1, Place 1, Hays County Justice of the Peace, Precinct 1, Place 2, Hays County Justice of the Peace, Precinct 2, Hays County, Justice of the Peace, Precinct 3, Hays County, Justice of the Peace, Precinct 4, Hays County Justice of the Peace, Precinct 5, New Braunfels Municipal Court, and Georgetown Municipal Court. Contact our offices today at (512) 359-3300.

Categories: