Possession of THC in the State of Texas - Austin Lawyer Jason Trumpler

Austin THC Lawyer Jason Trumpler

undefined

CONTACT US TODAY AT (512) 359-3300

In the State of Texas, possession of a marijuana concentrate or tetrahydrocannabidiol or THC is punished much more harshly than possession of marijuana. On the street, marijuana concentrate or THC is often known as possessing dabs, butane hash oil (BHO), honey oil, budder, shatter, hash, hash oil, and wax. Marijuana concentrate like dabs, hash, and hash oil are not considered marijuana by Texas courts and are instead grouped with more serious drugs like ecstasy, MDMA or molly, PCP, and mescaline. While possession of under four ounces of pure leaf marijuana is typically classified as a misdemeanor, possession of THC - like dabs, hash, or hash oil – is typically classified as a felony. A felonycan seriously affect your housing and employment prospects.

If you have been charged with possession of a marijuana concentrate or tetrahydrocannabidiol (THC) in or around the Austin, Texas, Travis County, Williamson County, Hays County, area, an experienced THC defense attorney may be able to assist you in getting your charges reduced or dismissed.

In the last several years,Austin THC Attorney Jason Trumpler has successfully had THC charges completely dismissed on a motion to suppress in Llano County. He has had charges completely dismissed in San Saba County. In addition, he has had countless charges reduced to misdemeanors in Williamson County, Travis County, and Hays County.

Punishment

Even though the psychoactive component in both marijuana and marijuana concentrate (THC) is the same, the law treats the two substances much differently. Most possession of marijuana convictions (as long as the amount is under 4-ounces) are misdemeanors. Possession of a THC (tetrahydrocannabidiol) is felony.

• Under 1 gram: State jail felony. 6-months to 2-years in jail, and a fine up to $10,000.

• 1 gram-3.9 grams: 3rd degree felony. 2-10-years in jail, and a fine up to $10,000.

• 4 grams-399 grams: 2nd degree felony. 2-20-years in jail, and a fine up to $10,000.

• 400 grams or more: 1st degree felony. 10-years-lifetime imprisonment, and a fine up to $50,000.

In addition to fines, jail time, and possible prison time, your driver’s license will automatically be suspended with conviction of a drug offense.

Contact Us at (512) 359-3300

If you or someone you know has been arrested for possession of a THC (tetrahydrocannabidiol) – likedabs, hash, wax, shatter, or hash oil – contact the Law Office of Jason Trumpler at (512) 359-3300 today. Jason Trumpler is a criminal defense attorney with over 15-years experience. He currently practices in Central Texas in counties including Travis, Williamson, Caldwell, Bell, Hays, Comal, Lee, Bastrop, Burnet, Llano, and San Saba counties. We can be reached at (512) 359-3300.

Categories: