A Hit and Run Attorney Can Defend You against Criminal Charges
Under Texas law, drivers are required to stop after an accident and exchange required information. Leaving the scene of a car accident is a serious crime and can result in a misdemeanor or felony conviction.
If you have been charged with leaving the scene of a car accident, you need a hit and run attorney who can defend you against criminal traffic charges. At our Austin, TX, law firm, attorney Jason Trumpler handles a range of vehicular crime cases. With a proven track record for successfully defending clients, he can help you build a strong defense. Contact our office online or call (512) 457-5200 to speak to a member of our team about your case today.
What to Do after an Accident
If you believe you may have left the scene of a car accident, you need to protect yourself. There are a few steps you can take right away to avoid unfair prosecution or other issues:
- Do not speak to the police without first talking to an attorney. They may know your vehicle was involved in an accident, but cannot prove you were behind the wheel without an admission.
- Do not report the accident to your car insurance without speaking to an attorney. Insurance companies often record calls and turn the evidence over to the police.
- Contact an attorney. A vehicular crimes attorney can investigate your case and begin building a defense.
Mr. Trumpler and our team can intervene between you, the police, and your insurance to protect your rights and help you avoid a serious charge.
Understanding the Charges
The term “hit and run” refers to situations where a driver leaves the scene of a car crash without disclosing proper information. You can be charged with leaving the scene even in the event of a minor crash in which you hit a parked car or another type of property, such as a hedge or other landscaping. Texas law requires drivers involved in an accident to stop and provide all relevant information to the other driver, including:
- Your name and address
- The name of your insurance company
- The registration number of the vehicle
You must also show your driver’s license if requested and provide assistance to anyone injured in the accident. Failure to comply can result in criminal charges. If you hit a parked car and cannot find the owner, you must leave a note containing all the required information.
The charges you face depend on the amount of damage caused in the accident and whether anyone was injured or killed as a result of your actions.
For example, if you do not leave a note after hitting a parked car, the punishment depends on level of damage. If the damage is less than $200, you can be charged with a Class C misdemeanor, resulting in a fine of up to $500. Causing more than $200 worth of damage in a hit and run accident can result in a Class B misdemeanor charge, which may result in up to 180 days in jail and a fine of up to $2,000.
At the Law Offices of Jason Trumpler, we have the resources and skills to defend you and help you deal with the aftermath of a hit and run charge.
In contrast, a hit and run accident involving death or serious bodily injury can result in a third degree felony charge, the punishment for which is two to 10 years in prison and a fine up to $10,000.
Build a Strong Defense
Whether you backed into a parked car in a lot or were involved in a serious high-speed accident, you need a strong defense to avoid the ramifications of a hit and run accusation. At the Law Offices of Jason Trumpler, we have the resources and skills to defend you and help you deal with the aftermath of a hit and run charge. If you were involved in a hit and run accident, contact our firm online or call (512) 457-5200 as soon as possible to begin building a defense.