Vehicular Manslaughter Defense Attorney in Austin

Creative & Effective Defense Strategies

If you were involved in a car accident that resulted in the death of another driver or a pedestrian, you may find yourself facing a vehicular manslaughter charge. In Texas, the punishments for manslaughter are severe. When facing this type of charge, you need an Austin vehicular manslaughter attorney who will fight for you.

At the Law Offices of Jason Trumpler, we have a proven record of protecting our clients from serious charges. Attorney Jason Trumpler has an advanced understanding of vehicular crimes and can build a strong defense on your behalf. There is no time to wait after a serious accident. You need representation right away.

Contact our office online or call (512) 359-3300 to schedule an appointment with a member of our team today.

What Is Vehicular Manslaughter?

The term vehicular manslaughter is used to describe acts of reckless or irresponsible driving that result in a death. In these situations, there is typically no intention to harm anyone. Instead, the accident occurs due to negligent actions on the part of one or more drivers who act recklessly.

You can be charged with vehicular manslaughter if a death results from:

  • Driving while intoxicated (DWI)
  • Aggressive driving
  • Racing on a highway
  • Driving with a suspended license

The punishments for vehicular manslaughter in Texas are severe. If you have been charged with manslaughter, you need an attorney who understands the laws governing vehicular crimes and can build a strong case in your defense.

Penalties for Vehicular Manslaughter

A charge for vehicular manslaughter can range from a Class A misdemeanor to a first-degree felony. Penalties are determined by the type of charge you receive.

The potential penalties for vehicular manslaughter include:

  • Class A misdemeanor: This type of conviction can result in a jail sentence of up to one year and a fine up of up to $4,000
  • State felony conviction: With a state jail felony, you can receive a jail sentence from 180 days to two years and a fine not exceeding $10,000.
  • Third-degree felony: For a third-degree felony, the minimum prison sentence is two years; however, you can receive up to 10 years in prison and a fine up to $10,000
  • Second-degree felony: The minimum conviction for a second-degree felony is also two years, while the maximum is 20 years in prison and up to $10,000 in fines
  • First-degree felony: A first-degree felony can potentially result in five to 99 years in prison or life imprisonment; you may also incur up to $10,000 in fines

Under Texas law, the punishments associated with vehicular manslaughter vary depending on previous convictions, the severity of the offense, and many other factors. Our team can investigate your case and find ways to minimize your sentence or have your charges dismissed.

Contact Us Today

Vehicular manslaughter is a serious charge. If you were involved in an accident that resulted in a death, you need to contact an attorney immediately. At the Law Offices of Jason Trumpler, our team is standing by to take your call and help you navigate this difficult process.

Call our office at (512) 359-3300 or contact us online today to find out how we can help.

Our Victories

  • Dismissed Assault Family Violence
  • Dismissed Assault with Bodily Injury
  • Dismissed DWI
  • Dismissed Possession of Marijuana
  • Dismissed Sexual Assault
  • Dismissed Assault
  • Dismissed Unlawful Carrying of Weapon
  • Dismissed Unlawful Discharge of a Firearm
  • Dismissed Violation of a Protective Order
  • Dismissed 2 Counts of Aggravated Robbery