Facing a Family Violence Charge? Domestic Violence Lawyer Jason Trumpler Can Help
If you are arrested on any kind of domestic violence charge, you need a lawyer as soon as possible. Even if the complaining witness declines to press charges, the county or district attorney can pursue legal action. Domestic violence lawyer Jason Trumpler has helped hundreds of Austin, TX-area residents protect their rights when facing domestic violence charges. Please contact our office online or call (512) 457-5200 today to schedule a consultation.
Texas Domestic Violence Law
In Texas, domestic violence is often known as family violence, but it encompasses more than just family members. Domestic violence charges can also involve someone with whom you share a past or present relationship, or even an unrelated member of the household. The possible consequences are the same in every case.
Possible Charges and Consequences
A first offense of domestic assault is a class A misdemeanor, which can bring up to a year in county jail and a $4,000 fine for conviction. A second domestic violence conviction can be a third-degree felony, which means up to 10 years in the state penitentiary and a $10,000 fine.
You can be convicted of a third-degree felony regardless of whether you were arrested for or convicted of prior assault. For this reason alone, it is important to retain an attorney if you face any charge of domestic violence.
Domestic assault is defined as intentionally, knowingly, or recklessly causing bodily injury to another person. A reckless act could include unintentional injury caused by the simple act of pushing someone aside. Other domestic assault offenses include:
- Threatening another person with imminent bodily injury
- Causing physical contact known to be provocative or offensive (including sexual touching or invading personal space)
Aggravated domestic assault may include any of these actions, but results in serious bodily injury. Use of a deadly weapon also brings an aggravated domestic assault charge, which can be a first or second degree felony.
If a defendant is found to have committed two domestic assaults in a 12-month period, this can bring a charge of continuous violence, a third-degree felony. However, you can be charged with a third-degree felony regardless of whether you were arrested for or convicted of prior assault. For this reason alone, it is important to seek legal counsel for any charge of domestic violence.
How Trumpler Law Can Help
Jason Trumpler is an criminal defense attorney who has assisted many clients accused of domestic violence. You can count on our firm to work diligently and strategically to dispute state evidence and defend your freedom and reputation. Jason Trumpler can conduct an independent investigation that involves contacting and interviewing favorable witnesses to build your case.
If the evidence weighs heavily against you, negotiating a lesser charge or deferred prosecution may be the answer. When advisable, Jason Trumpler can take the case to trial to win acquittal.
If you face domestic violence charges, contact Jason Trumpler online or call (512) 457-5200 today. We can also help with bail and release.