Arson in the State of Texas

Arson is a very serious crime in the State of Texas that could lead to lengthy prison sentences, fines, and a felony conviction. Arson is the act of starting a fire or causing an explosion with the intent to damage or destroy a fence, vegetation, or a structure on open-space land. The Texas Penal Code also considers a fire intended to damage a building or car an act of arson if:

• The car or building is within an incorporated city.

• You know the house or car is insured against damage.

• You know that the house or car is subject to mortgage or “other security interest.”

• You start a fire while attempting to manufacture a controlled substance and the fire damages a car or building.

• Know the house or car is located on property belonging to someone else, or

• You are reckless about whether the burning or explosion will endanger another’s property or life.

The penal code contains these particular stipulations since the main two motives for arson are either to harm or intimidate another individual, or to falsely collect on an insurance settlement.

Texas takes alleged acts ofarson very seriously. If you or someone you know has been charged with the crime of arson, hiring an attorney can greatly increase your chances of a favorable outcome on your case. Jason Trumpler has over 15-years of experience handling criminal cases, and will examine the details of your case to find the best defense for you. Contact our office today at (512) 359-3300.

Potential Consequences

Typically, arson is considered a 2nd Degree Felony. If you are convicted of a 2nd Degree Felony, you could spend between 2 – 20-years in prison and face a fine of up to $10,000.

However, if you injure another person, or you set fire to a church or other place of worship, the charge may be enhanced to a 1st Degree Felony. If you are convicted of a 1st Degree Felony, you could spend between 5 – 99-years in prison and face a fine of up to $10,000.

If you cause an explosion or fire while attempting to manufacture a controlled substance, you may be charged with a State Jail Felony – often in conjunction with other charges. If you are convicted of a State Jail Felony, you could spend between 6-month – 2-years in prison and face a fine o up to $10,000.

Contact Us Today at (512) 359-3300

If you have been charged with the act ofarson, contact our office today. Jason Trumpler is an aggressive, detail-oriented attorney, both in and out of the courtroom. He has over 15-years of experience handling criminal cases. He currently represents people in Central Texas counties including Travis, Williamson, Hays, Lee, Bell, Comal, Burnet, Bastrop, and Coryell. Call us today at (512) 359-3300.

Categories: